Wings Lose in Albany - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
6:00 pm ET
Wings
Thunderbirds
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
10:30 pm ET
Wings
Desert Dogs
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Panther City
Wings
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Wings
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Wings
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Bandits
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
Sun, Mar 19
3:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Wings
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
6:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Wings
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
3:00 pm ET
Wings
FireWolves
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game Recaps

Wings Lose in Albany

The Philadelphia Wings were foiled in their attempt to clinch a playoff spot Saturday night, finding themselves stymied by the Albany defense for most of the game in a 11-5 setback.

 

Philadelphia controlled things well early on, taking a 2-0 lead in the first 3:06 and maintaining that two-goal advantage through most of the second quarter after Kyle Jackson scored 2:36 into that period. Although Andrew Kew tallied for the Firewolves later in the frame, the Wings still held a 4-3 lead at halftime.

 

What nobody saw coming was that Jackson’s goal was the last the Wings would score for almost the entire game. Albany kept the Wings off the board for the rest of the second quarter and the entire second half until Matt Rambo put one home with three seconds remaining in the contest.  The Firewolves defense allowed the Wings just nine shots in each of the second and third quarter and 12 in the fourth.

 

Philadelphia’s defense was nearly as effective in the middle two quarters, as Zach Higgins stopped 24 of 27 shots he faced in those periods, and Albany led just 5-4 after three periods. But the Firewolves went on to score six fourth-quarter goals, starting with three in the span of 1:39 early in the fourth quarter that put the proceedings out of reach.

 

The Wings now must win their final game at Georgia to get into the playoffs.  This matchup is set for 7PM on April 30, the final day of the NLL season.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse