Wings Drop OT Thriller to Bandits - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
FINAL
Philadelphia
8
Halifax
18
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Philadelphia
13
Georgia
12
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
FINAL
Philadelphia
14
Las Vegas
9
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Panther City
12
Philadelphia
10
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
19:00:00
Buffalo
Philadelphia
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
Albany
Philadelphia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:30:00
Philadelphia
Buffalo
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30:00
New York
Philadelphia
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00:00
Georgia
Philadelphia
Sun, Mar 19
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Halifax
Philadelphia
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
18:00:00
Rochester
Philadelphia
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Albany
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game HighlightsMediaNewsNLL

Wings Drop OT Thriller to Bandits

PHILADELPHIA, PA – March 8, 2019 – The Philadelphia Wings led the league’s best team for more than half the game in total, but Buffalo’s defense clamped down after the third quarter and the Bandits were able to claw back for a 12-11 overtime win at the Wells Fargo Center. Kevin Crowley had a six-point night (2G, 4A) and 12 shots to lead the club and Trevor Baptiste went 21 of 27 on faceoffs, but Chase Fraser scored four goals, including the overtime winner, to push Buffalo to the win.

The Wings opened the scoring just 1:44 into the game on a goal by Kiel Matisz, and after the Bandits got the next two, Philadelphia reeled off the next five goals to open up a 6-2 lead that they didn’t relinquish until the game’s final minutes. Buffalo cut that lead in half before halftime, and then after Jordan Hall restored a three-goal advantage 41 seconds into the third quarter, Buffalo picked up four of the next six goals to close within a goal at 9-8 just under six minutes into the third.

In the latter part of the third, the Wings rebuilt the three-goal lead once again. Josh Currier made it 10-8 with just under three minutes left in the quarter, and then with just over two seconds to play, Crowley made it 11-8 headed into the final stanza.

But the Wings weren’t able to get anything else past goaltender Matt Vinc the rest of the evening. Buffalo scraped together three in the fourth quarter, tying it on a goal by Corey Small with 1:07 to play. After each team had several opportunities in the overtime, Fraser finally solved Doug Buchan 5:18 into the extra session.

Buchan absorbed the loss with 54 saves on 66 Buffalo shots, while Vinc stopped 48 of 58 Wings shots to take the win.

Frank Brown joined Crowley with a two-goal game, while the other seven tallies came from seven different players. Jordan Hall contributed three assists for a four-point night. In addition to his dominance on faceoffs, Baptiste gobbled up 14 loose balls to lead both teams.

The Wings will head west next weekend to visit the San Diego Seals on Saturday, March 16 in a 10:00 Eastern time start. Their next action at the Wells Fargo Center comes on Saturday, March 23 against New England.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse