Wings Drop Game Two Against Black Wolves - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
6:00 pm ET
Wings
Thunderbirds
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
10:30 pm ET
Wings
Desert Dogs
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Panther City
Wings
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Wings
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Wings
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Bandits
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
Sun, Mar 19
3:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Wings
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
6:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Wings
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
3:00 pm ET
Wings
FireWolves
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
BlogGame HighlightsMediaPress Releases

Wings Drop Game Two Against Black Wolves

UNCASVILLE, CT – February 17, 2019 –  The Philadelphia Wings were bidding for a back-to-back sweep of the New England Black Wolves on Sunday afternoon, but the Wolves fed off their home crowd to recover from an early deficit and take a 17-11 win. Josh Currier and Matt Rambo each had six-point games and eight different Wings had two-goal afternoons. But it wasn’t enough to overcome big games for three different New England players – a 12-point game for Callum Crawford was complemented by an eight-point day for Tyler Digby and a seven-point game for Stephan Leblanc.

Philadelphia scored two power play goals in the first 3 ½ minutes of the game – Blaze Riorden tallied 1:29 into the contest, followed by Jordan Hall at the 3:28 mark. Unfortunately the momentum wouldn’t stick, as New England commenced an 8-2 run from that point until just before halftime. Six different players contributed to that particular effort, which gave New England an 8-5 lead at halftime.

The Wings picked up three of the first five goals in the second half, as Rambo, Kevin Crowley and Riorden tried to spark the club and drew it within two at 10-8. But New England hit the gas again and scored five in a row, including three in the first 2:10 of the fourth quarter, to go up 15-8. Although the Wings got three of the final five goals of the game, it wasn’t enough to erase the deficit.

The Wings were 3-for-5 on the power play and killed off all three shorthanded situations they faced.  Doug Buchan started the game and made 10 saves on 16 shots in 21:46 before departing in favor of Davide DiRuscio, who absorbed the loss despite 24 saves on 34 shots.

The Wings are now off for two weeks before hosting the Buffalo Bandits at the Wells Fargo Center on Friday, March 8 at 8:00PM. Tickets are on sale at WingsLAX.com or by calling 215-952-LAX1. Fans can also follow the team @NLLWings to receive behind the scenes information as the team continues its home season at the Wells Fargo Center.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse