Wings Defeat Knighthawks 12-8 - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
6:00 pm ET
Wings
Thunderbirds
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
10:30 pm ET
Wings
Desert Dogs
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Panther City
Wings
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Wings
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Wings
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Bandits
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
Sun, Mar 19
3:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Wings
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
6:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Wings
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
3:00 pm ET
Wings
FireWolves
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game Recaps

Wings Defeat Knighthawks 12-8

A sock trick from Corey Small drove the Philadelphia Wings on Saturday night in Rochester, leading the club to a 12-8 win over Rochester that snapped a four-game losing streak. The win moved the Wings to 6-7 on the season, keeping them in contention for a NLL playoff spot.

 

The Wings scored three power play goals in the first 90 seconds of the contest to establish a lead they never relinquished. Small, Ben McIntosh and Blaze Riorden all found the back of the net during man-up situations provided during a minor and major assessed to Rochester 18 seconds into the contest. Rochester grabbed two goals once even strength was restored, but Small and McIntosh both answered to give the Wings a 5-2 lead at the end of the first quarter.

 

Small completed the hat trick 42 seconds into the second quarter and added a fourth on the power play at the 4:33 mark of the period. Newly-signed forward Kyle Jackson then potted his first as a Wing, and a tally from Blaze Riorden established a 9-2 halftime lead for Philadelphia.

 

Rochester scored the only two goals of the third quarter. After another power play tally from Small started the fourth quarter, Rochester went on a 4-0 run to close the gap to 10-8 with just over five minutes to play. But the Wings closed the door from there, and additional goals from McIntosh and Small sealed the victory.

 

Small added two assists to his six goals for an eight-point night, while McIntosh had a hat trick and an assist for a four-point game. Jackson added five assists to his goal for a six-point night, while Kevin Crowley assisted on five of the goals. Riorden had two goals and two assists for the Wings, who were missing both Matt Rambo and Cory Vitarelli with injuries.

 

Zach Higgins allowed eight goals on 56 shots to backstop the win, while Trevor Baptiste won 18 of 23 faceoffs.

 

The Wings wrap up their home schedule on Thursday night vs. Buffalo before starting a five-game road swing to finish the regular season.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse