Several Wings Members Named Finalists for NLL's 2019 Postseason Awards - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
Scores / Schedule
MediaNLLPress Releases

Several Wings Members Named Finalists for NLL’s 2019 Postseason Awards

The Philadelphia Wings saw several members of the organization named as finalists for the NLL’s 2019 postseason awards, announced by the league earlier today.

Matt Rambo is a finalist for NLL Rookie of the Year, along with Ian MacKay of Buffalo and Austin Staats of San Diego.  Rambo finished second in the league in scoring among rookies with 26 goals and 30 assists for 56 points. He accumulated 45 of those points – 20 of the goals and 25 of the assists – over the final 10 games of the season.

Kiel Matisz is a finalist for NLL Transition Player of the Year, joining Zach Currier of Calgary and Toronto’s Challen Rogers. Matisz was second on the Wings and 14th in the NLL with 127 loose balls, and ranked first on the team and 10th in the league in the category among players who were not regular faceoff performers. There were 28 players in the NLL who had at least 100 loose balls this season; Matisz’s 82 points were 51 ahead of anyone else in that group.

Lindsey Masciangelo, the team’s Vice President of Business Operations, is a finalist for Executive of the Year. Masciangelo has led the resurgence of the Philadelphia Wings, promoting a team environment where employees have worked hard to create a culture of creativity and positivity.  Masciangelo oversaw the development of the team’s sponsorship and community engagement activities, as well as a grass-roots season-ticket drive, As a result, the Wings established founding partnerships with Inspira Heath, Yuengling Beer, the PA Lottery and local television station PHL 17. The deal with PHL 17 included telecasts of all nine home games and three road games, putting the Wings in nearly three million households across the Philadelphia DMA. The Wings averaged 10,905 fans over their nine home games this year, which ranked fifth in the league.

The National Lacrosse League will announce the winners of the individual awards, as well as the league’s All-Pro and All-Rookie teams, later this summer.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse