Game Recap: #PHIvsTOR - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
FINAL
Philadelphia
8
Halifax
18
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Philadelphia
13
Georgia
12
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
FINAL
Philadelphia
14
Las Vegas
9
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Panther City
12
Philadelphia
10
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
FINAL
Buffalo
13
Philadelphia
9
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
Albany
Philadelphia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:30:00
Philadelphia
Buffalo
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30:00
New York
Philadelphia
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00:00
Georgia
Philadelphia
Sun, Mar 19
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Halifax
Philadelphia
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
18:00:00
Rochester
Philadelphia
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Albany
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game RecapsNLL

Game Recap: #PHIvsTOR

The Philadelphia Wings had no answers for the Toronto Rock in the second half, as the opponent used a stifling defense to keep the Wings off the board in an eventual 14-7 Toronto victory.

 

The game started out well for the Wings, who established an early 4-1 lead just over seven minutes into the game. Ben McIntosh had a hat trick in the first quarter, and Matt Rambo and Corey Small also contributed to a 5-3 advantage at the first quarter break.

 

Toronto then pulled ahead with the first four goals of the second quarter, but a pair of tallies from Blaze Riorden knotted things up at 7-7 at halftime.  From there though, Toronto goaltender Nick Rose and the Rock defense shut the doors, permitting the Wings just 18 shots on goal and zero goals in the second half.

 

Further complicating matters for the Wings was that Toronto, which had taken the league’s second-most penalty minutes on average per game heading into the contest, only committed one coincidental minor – meaning the Wings power play, ranked first in the NLL, did not get a single opportunity in the contest.

 

Dan Craig led the way for Toronto with a career night, potting five goals and adding four assists for a nine-point game. Tom Schreiber continued his assault on NLL nets with four goals, putting him at 19 on the season in just five appearances.

 

Trevor Baptiste was a bright spot for the Wings, dominating a faceoff battle between two of the best takers in the game by winning 19 of 24 draws against Toronto’s TD Ierlan. Baptiste gobbled 12 loose balls, as did Kiel Matisz.

 

The Wings continue on in their slate this Sunday afternoon when they head to Hamilton, Ontario to take on the Halifax Thunderbirds in a game that was moved to Toronto’s home building due to COVID restrictions in Nova Scotia.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse