Game Recap: PHI vs HFX - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
6:00 pm ET
Wings
Thunderbirds
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
10:30 pm ET
Wings
Desert Dogs
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Panther City
Wings
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Wings
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Wings
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Bandits
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
Sun, Mar 19
3:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Wings
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
6:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Wings
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
3:00 pm ET
Wings
FireWolves
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game Recaps

Game Recap: PHI vs HFX

The Philadelphia Wings erased a two-goal fourth-quarter deficit to take a one-goal lead, but the Halifax Thunderbirds erased it with just over 22 seconds to play and ended up with a 10-8 win in Hamilton, Ontario.

 

The Wings started the game off with a 2-0 lead but trailed 3-2 by the end of the first quarter, as the game went back-and-forth throughout the first half en route to a 4-4 halftime tie. A relatively quiet third quarter saw the Wings tally first to take a 5-4 lead, but the Thunderbirds scored the only other two goals of the frame and led 6-5 at the break. Halifax then scored the first goal of the fourth quarter to take a 7-5 advantage.

 

From there, the Wings scored the next three goals over the span of just over four minutes – Brett Hickey started it off on the power play with just under seven minutes to go, and then Ben McIntosh scored twice to complete a hat trick and give the Wings the 8-7 advantage with just over 2 ½ minutes to play.

 

That ended up being enough time for Halifax to turn the tide back its way. Brad Gillies tied the score with 1:31 to play, and Stephan Leblanc scored the game-winner 1:08 later. Tyson Bell finished things off with a late empty-netter.

 

The result spoiled another solid game for Zach Higgins, who turned away 44 of the 53 shots he faced. McIntosh recorded his third consecutive hat trick and fifth overall on the season, while Corey Small had a goal and five assists for a six-point game, while Kevin Crowley had two goals and two assists and Hickey had two goals and an assist. Blaze Riorden also contributed three helpers.

 

The Wings are off next week and will return to action Feb. 26 for a rematch against Halifax at Wells Fargo Center.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse