Wings Defeat Black Wolves 13-8 - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
6:00 pm ET
Wings
Thunderbirds
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
10:30 pm ET
Wings
Desert Dogs
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Panther City
Wings
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Wings
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Wings
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Bandits
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
Sun, Mar 19
3:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Wings
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
6:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Wings
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
3:00 pm ET
Wings
FireWolves
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game HighlightsMediaNLLPress Releases

Wings Defeat Black Wolves 13-8

ROOKIE GOALTENDER DOUG BUCHAN EARNED THE WIN WITH 55 SAVES

Philadelphia, PA – The Philadelphia Wings recovered from allowing the game’s first goal with three tallies in the final 9:01 of the first quarter and never trailed again in an eventual 13-8 win over the New England Black Wolves in front of 11,988 fans at the Wells Fargo Center. Kevin Crowley had three goals for the second consecutive week and led the way with eight points, while Matt Rambo and Josh Currier each contributed two goals and two assists and Kiel Matisz chipped in five assists.   It was Philadelphia’s third win of the season and second over New England.

Tyle Digby scored 49 seconds into the game to give New England the early 1-0 lead, but the Wings scored the next four goals – Blaze Riorden, Josh Currier and Liam Patten all scored in the first, and Jordan Hall tallied 3:37 into the second. Stephan Leblanc scored two in a row for New England to close the score to 4-3, but the Wings then ended the half on another 4-0 run that included two goals from Rambo and a goal apiece from Crowley and Vaughn Harris. That made it 8-3 at halftime.

The teams exchanged goals throughout the third quarter – Joe Resetarits had a pair and Digby added another, while Frank Brown and Crowley tallied for the Wings as the score climbed to 10-6 in favor of Philadelphia. Currier scored 4:43 into the fourth quarter to make it an 11-6 game, after which the Black Wolves got one back from Digby to close within four at 11-7 with just over nine minutes to play.  But the Wings held off New England until there were less than four minutes left; Resetarits scored with 3:52 remaining, which Crowley answered just under two minutes later to make it 12-8. Anthony Joaquim finished things off with an empty-netter in the final minute.

Doug Buchan made 55 saves to earn the win, while Doug Jamieson absorbed the loss with 37 stops.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse