Player Q&A: Kiel Matisz - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Sat, Dec 2
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
WK
2
Sat, Dec 9
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
3
Sat, Dec 16
13:00:00
Albany
Philadelphia
WK
5
Fri, Dec 29
18:30:00
Philadelphia
Halifax
WK
6
Sun, Jan 7
15:00:00
New York
Philadelphia
WK
7
Sat, Jan 13
19:00:00
Saskatchewan
Philadelphia
WK
9
Sat, Jan 27
19:30:00
San Diego
Philadelphia
WK
10
Fri, Feb 2
19:00:00
Halifax
Philadelphia
WK
12
Fri, Feb 16
22:00:00
Philadelphia
Las Vegas
WK
13
Sat, Feb 24
21:00:00
Philadelphia
Calgary
WK
14
Sat, Mar 2
13:00:00
Calgary
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sun, Mar 10
15:00:00
Panther City
Philadelphia
WK
16
Sat, Mar 16
19:30:00
Philadelphia
Georgia
WK
17
Sat, Mar 23
19:00:00
Vancouver
Philadelphia
WK
18
Sat, Mar 30
13:00:00
Buffalo
Philadelphia
WK
19
Sun, Apr 7
16:00:00
Philadelphia
Panther City
WK
20
Fri, Apr 12
21:00:00
Philadelphia
Colorado
WK
21
Sun, Apr 21
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
BlogInterviewsStories

Player Q&A: Kiel Matisz

What is your favorite lacrosse memory?
Most recently, winning the Mann Cup championship in 2019. I had won the NLL Champions Cup in 2017, so to win the Mann Cup and to celebrate that with lifelong friends, my wife and my son was amazing.

Kiel Matisz with his family after winning the Mann Cup

Other than the Wells Fargo Center, where is your favorite place to visit in Philly?
I really enjoyed going to see the Liberty Bell at Independence Hall. I love what it stands for.
The Liberty Bell

What has been your favorite quarantine activity?
My favorite thing over quarantine has been learning new things. I’ve been reading a lot of books on leadership and also learning about investments. It’s also been really fun watching my son learn to play the sport of lacrosse.

Kiel Matisz with his son, Kade

How would you describe yourself as a lacrosse player?
I would use the line “does everything well but nothing great”. I think one of my biggest skill sets is my communication on the floor with my teammates, using my lacrosse IQ and my willingness to get to the dirty areas to do whatever I can to help us win.
3 things you want during a zombie apocalypse?

  • Lacrosse stick – a weapon and also a way to take my mind off of things
  • My family
  • An infinite supply of food and water

What is your favorite food?
Sheppard’s Pie. It’s got everything you need! Potatoes, beef, corn, peas, onion. You can eat it hot or cold, mash it up. It’s all going to the same place.

What is your favorite sport besides lax?
I played a lot of sports growing up. But as a Canadian, hockey has to be my second favorite sport. I have also been getting into basketball lately.

Kiel Matisz with his wife at a hockey game

What is at the top of your Christmas list this year?
I definitely want a box / squat rack for my new home gym. I’ll probably be picking that up before Christmas though.

Who is your favorite musician/band?
I’ve been listening to a lot of Morgan Wallen lately. I’m mainly into country music, but I gotta give a shoutout to Meek too.

Is a hot dog a sandwich?
A hot dog is not a sandwich. A sandwich by definition is something between two pieces of bread, but a hot dog is meat resting on top of a bun. Hot dogs are long and sandwiches are wide.

Is a hot dog a sandwich?

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse