National Lacrosse League Targets April for the Start of Its 35th Season - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
FINAL
Philadelphia
8
Halifax
18
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
FINAL
Philadelphia
13
Georgia
12
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
FINAL
Philadelphia
14
Las Vegas
9
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
FINAL
Panther City
12
Philadelphia
10
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
FINAL
Toronto
14
Philadelphia
5
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
19:00:00
Buffalo
Philadelphia
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
19:00:00
Albany
Philadelphia
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
19:30:00
Philadelphia
Buffalo
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30:00
New York
Philadelphia
Mon, Mar 6
19:00:00
Toronto
Philadelphia
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
19:30:00
Philadelphia
New York
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00:00
Georgia
Philadelphia
Sun, Mar 19
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
19:00:00
Halifax
Philadelphia
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
18:00:00
Rochester
Philadelphia
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Toronto
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
15:00:00
Philadelphia
Albany
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
19:00:00
Philadelphia
Rochester
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
NewsNLL

National Lacrosse League Targets April for the Start of Its 35th Season

(Philadelphia, PA, October 28, 2020)- The National Lacrosse League (@NLL), the longest running and most successful professional lacrosse league in the world, today announced that the League is targeting to start their 35th season the weekend of April 9th to 11th in 2021.  The focus of the league and NLL teams is to work with health authorities and local jurisdictions to develop health and safety protocols for the players and fans at their games.  A detailed schedule will follow at an appropriate time.

“We have been continuously working with our teams, Players’ Association, arenas, and health and government officials to prepare to play our 35th season.  An April start date will give us sufficient time to have our protocols in place for players, coaches, staff as well as fans,” NLL Commissioner Nick Sakiewicz said.  “We are working with all teams to provide the safest environment and an acceptable level of fans in the stands.   We understand that current circumstances will dictate whether this plan is achievable, and we will be prepared to remain flexible and pivot as needed.  We want to thank all our players, fans and partners who have supported our efforts to stay connected and engaged during this prolonged offseason and are looking forward to returning to play in April.”

Under the current plan, teams would report to individual training camps – some virtual and some in-person – under strict guidelines in mid-March, with all teams beginning game play in April. The league is in the process of continuing to build out several scenarios which factor in current and longer-term restrictions in municipalities in both the United States and Canada with regard to immigration and facility use.  The NLL’s plans will remain fluid with options for best case scenarios for teams, officials, players, fans and coaches as April approaches.

“The NLL has put together an excellent plan for our upcoming 35th season.  We look forward to working together on behalf of all the players in our membership to get our 35th season underway,” said Zach Currier, President, PLPA. “It is reflective of what can be done with great communication and trust, and we cannot wait to get back to playing.”

The 2019-20 NLL season ended March 12 due to the COVID-19 outbreak.

For the most up to date information and breaking news, be sure to follow us on social media @nllwings.

 

 

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse