Wings Comeback Falls Short, Again - Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse
WK
1
Fri, Dec 2
6:00 pm ET
Wings
Thunderbirds
WK
3
Sat, Dec 17
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Swarm
WK
6
Fri, Jan 6
10:30 pm ET
Wings
Desert Dogs
WK
7
Sat, Jan 14
7:00 pm ET
Panther City
Wings
WK
8
Sat, Jan 21
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
9
Fri, Jan 27
7:00 pm ET
Bandits
Wings
WK
10
Sat, Feb 4
7:00 pm ET
FireWolves
Wings
WK
12
Sat, Feb 18
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Bandits
WK
14
Sat, Mar 4
11:30 am ET
Riptide
Wings
Mon, Mar 6
7:00 pm ET
Rock
Wings
WK
15
Sat, Mar 11
7:30 pm ET
Wings
Riptide
WK
16
Sat, Mar 18
11:00 am ET
Swarm
Wings
Sun, Mar 19
3:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
WK
17
Sat, Mar 25
7:00 pm ET
Thunderbirds
Wings
WK
18
Sun, Apr 2
6:00 pm ET
Knighthawks
Wings
WK
20
Sat, Apr 15
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Rock
WK
21
Sun, Apr 23
3:00 pm ET
Wings
FireWolves
WK
22
Sat, Apr 29
7:00 pm ET
Wings
Knighthawks
Powered By
MGM Logo
Scores / Schedule
Game HighlightsMediaNLL

Wings Comeback Falls Short, Again

BUFFALO, NY – January 19, 2019 – The Philadelphia Wings once again found themselves trying to dig out of an early hole and once again nearly did so, but they couldn’t keep up with the Buffalo Bandits down the stretch in a 14-10 loss at KeyBank Center in Buffalo on Saturday night.

The Wings trailed 4-0 after the first quarter and eventually were in a 7-1 deficit before turning on the jets and charging back behind standout second and third quarters by Kiel Matisz and Kevin Crowley. The duo scored three goals apiece between the eight-minute mark of the second and the 9:22 mark of the third; meanwhile, after Buffalo’s seventh goal, the Wings only allowed two goals before the end of the fourth quarter. Vaughn Harris scored late in the third and Blaze Riorden tallied early in the fourth to bring the Wings all the way back to a 9-9 tie 3:48 into the fourth quarter.

Buffalo got the next goal befor Matisz re-tied it at 10-10 with his fourth tally of the game. But the comeback ran out of steam at that point, as the Bandits scored four times in 3 ½ minutes to put the game out of reach.

Matisz added an assist and Crowley added two to give each player five-point games. Harris had three assists to finish with a four-point game, while Chris Cloutier also had three assists. Crowley had 17 shots on goal and 27 total shots, accounting for nearly a third of the Wings’ 89 shot attempts.

League-leading faceoff specialist Trevor Baptiste had another stellar evening in the center circle, winning 20-of-28 faceoffs for the second consecutive week. He also led the Wings roster with 11 loose balls.

Davide Diruscio played 36:27 and made 30 saves on 36 shots in absorbing the loss. Doug Buchan had a no-decision, making 21 saves on 29 shots in 23:33 of play.

The Wings return to the Wells Fargo Center next Saturday, January 26 to host the Toronto Rock as the club starts a four-game homestand.  Seats for all remaining Wings home games are available by visiting WingsLAX.com or by calling 215-952-LAX1.

Philadelphia Wings Lacrosse